Thursday, March 10, 2016

YA Review - The Fixer

Hey y'all, 

Today I'm reviewing The Fixer by Jennifer Lynn Barnes.   


Summary from GoodReads: Sixteen-year-old Tess Kendrick has spent her entire life on her grandfather's ranch. But when her estranged sister Ivy uproots her to D.C., Tess is thrown into a world that revolves around politics and power. She also starts at Hardwicke Academy, the D.C. school for the children of the rich and powerful, where she unwittingly becomes a fixer for the high school set, fixing teens’ problems the way her sister fixes their parents’ problems.

And when a conspiracy surfaces that involves the family member of one of Tess's classmates, love triangles and unbelievable family secrets come to light and life gets even more interesting—and complicated—for Tess.

Perfect for fans of Pretty Little Liars and Heist Society, readers will be clamoring for this compelling teen drama with a political twist.

Review after the jump! 


Review: I’ve been a big fan of Barnes since I read the Raised by Wolves trilogy, which was flawless. The Fixer is essentially Scandal High, but not the Jimmy Kimmel parody. Instead, Barnes brings us snarky teens, political intrigue, and family drama with her usual storytelling panache. The other thing I liked about this book was that there was no love story in this book. Sometimes I feel like YA books are all about romantic relationships, with little actual plot or character development. I mean, I love a good love story, but it does sometimes drag down a good story. Instead, The Fixer stands out by focusing on the very real relationship between family members and establishing our characters for the rest of a (hopefully) long series. I read this after the second book in Ally Carter's Embassy Row series See How They Run, to cure my book hangover, and it was the perfect choice. Barnes & Carter are both at the top of the admittedly very small political thrillers for young adults.  Verdict: Highly recommend for Young Adult collections.


Stars: 5/5

No comments:

Post a Comment